Alfajors: A Transcendent Experience in Dulcitude

Imagine biting into a thin, soft, chocolately shell that surrounds three alternating layers of chocolate mouse and dulce de leche. That, my friends, is an alfajor. When I first heard Emily express her love for these little wonders of joy, I was intrigued, but it still took me three weeks until I finally fed my curiosity. On a cold, rainy, poosley, Thursday afternoon, I was heading home from castellano class and decided to stop into one of the 25-hour convenient stores to get some kind of chocolate. I was shopping for a small chocolate bar, maybe Milka? Dulce-de-leche-filled this time? When suddenly, a whole section of alfajors caught my eye. There were many different flavors and sizes: oreo, chocolate chip cookie, classic, dark chocolate, quadruple chocolate, dulce de leche, vanilla, and countless others. I settled for a normal-sized classic aflajor, payed my A$4, and continued on my way. Before I began to descend toward the subte, I stopped against the side of a building and opened up my alfajor. I was in heaven. That first melt-in-your-mouth savor was all I needed to forget about my worries and the poosley weather. Needless to say, I definitely found my new special-occasion comfort food.

Traveling to Argentina? Better be sure to put alfajors on your bucket-list; I guarantee you won’t regret it!

Fun Facts:
– pronounced “alpha-whore”
– “Alfajor” is derived from an arabic word meaning “luxury,” or “exquisite”
– These lovelies came over to South America from Spain
– The original alfajors contain flour, honey, almonds, cinnamon, and other spices. Due to the lack of ingredients, South American alfajors are made totally differently, but most contain dulce de leche
– Argentina is the world’s largest consumer of alfajors in total numbers and in per capita calculations; it’s apparently the #1 snack for children and adults.

More Info

Want some to eat at home?

Leave a Reply

